• logo
  • logo
  • logo


The Order of St John

The Order of St John

The Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of St John of Jerusalem

The Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of St John of Jerusalem – commonly known as the Order of St John – has a unique combination of features and has its roots in a hospice (hospital) founded in Jerusalem in the 11th century.

The Order is a major international charity, accredited at the United Nations, which provides first aid, health care and support services in over 40 countries around the world through a dedicated team of around 400,000 volunteers and staff.

The Order of St John itself is an Order of Chivalry of the British Crown. Her Majesty The Queen, the Sovereign Head of the Order, honours individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the work of St John, by awarding membership, at different grades, in the Order.

it is an Anglican Order, founded on Christian principles and everything that it does is inspired by Christian ideals. However, it provides a warm welcome to people of any faith or no faith, who are motivated to share its mission.

The objects and purposes of the Order are stated in its Statutes. The two key objects are:

  • the encouragement of all that makes for the spiritual and moral strengthening of mankind in accordance with the first great principle of the Order embodied in the motto Pro Fide – For the Faith
  • the encouragement and promotion of all work of humanity and charity for the relief of persons in sickness, distress, suffering or danger, without distinction of race, class or creed and the extension of the second great principle of the Order embodied in the motto Pro Utilitate Hominum – For the Service of Humanity.

Unlike other Crown Orders of Chivalry, the Order of St John is very much a working Order.

Find out more by downloading Nine Hundred Years Of Caring, our introduction to St John.

Mutually Recognised Orders

Working alongside the Most Venerable Order there are four other mutually recognised Orders of St John, all of which are inspired by the same origins. These are:

  1. the Sovereign Military Order of Malta;
  2. the Johanniterorden, of Germany;
  3. the Crown Order of St John in The Netherlands;  and
  4. the Crown Order of St John in Sweden.


The Priory in action

  • Susan’s Story

    Susan’s Story

    *Susan, a serving member of the Royal Navy was told that she was seriously ill and would be unable to continue her military career. The DMWS Welfare Officer spent a lot of time with Susan, talking through the devastating news.

    Besides offering Susan and her family reassurance and support, during an extremely stressful and frightening time, the DMWS Welfare Officer liaised with other agencies and together they provided a package of support, tailored to Susan’s specific needs.

    During those early days, the DMWS Welfare Officers also spent time with Susan’s  family and offered them reassurance on the treatment plan ahead.  They were assisted with accommodation as well as transport to and from the hospital and given information on local services.

    DMWS continued to visit Susan daily and supported her and her family throughout her treatment.

    Susan and her family have remained in touch with the DMWS Welfare Officers who were there for her and her family during the frightening and stressful diagnosis and treatment plan.

    *Name changed to protect confidentiality